Live TV Broadcast Feed vs Online Streaming Feed of Super Bowl 47

This year I decided to take the plunge in viewing CBS’s online streaming offering of Super Bowl 47, with the best part being I wasn’t forced to go through a secondary portal (such as my disdained cable internet company, Comcast) to get it to work.  I just went to http://www.cbssports.com/nfl/superbowl/live/player and, Voila!, it worked, for free.   In some ways it was better than watching the traditional broadcast and others it was worse.    While many of you reading this, statistically speaking, watched a traditional broadcast, please forgive me ahead of time and  I’ll do my best to compare what I missed via post game search results.

By and large the game coverage was the same.  The online interface made it possible to pick from multiple camera angles at any time, though I just left it on the default for the most part.    When the power went down at the Super Dome my feed also went down I found out over the phone from someone watching the game. All I had was a black screen so I wasn’t sure what was up.   I found this quite disconcerting  because any section of the U.S. power grid could foreseeably get shut down by hackers.  I was just hoping that the lights weren’t cut “for a bad reason”. I also figured it would be New Orlean’s luck of all places for something like that to happen.   For several minutes I frantically checked twitter, Googled “power out super bowl” and saw nothing relevant up for several minutes and just hoped that it was a power surge that was effected by Beyonce’s million-watt half time performance.  Thankfully it appears it was just that, though there was no official cause immediately post-game.   On Twitter, people in Indianapolis immediately made sure to point out it was now advantage Indianapolis over New Orleans in getting the host nod for Super Bowl 52 in 2018.

Besides the loss of the stream during the power outage, the most disappointing technical aspect of the online feed was that the game clock was not conveniently located within any part of the interface, yet a full breakdown of game stats was always at the ready.   It was easily remedied by checking other sources but quite annoying nonetheless.   I also noticed that many of the commercials I saw on streaming were repeats (as many as 10 times the same commercial in one half) that appeared to be geared to a younger male audience.  It appears CBS believed that young males would be a predominant audience for the streaming broadcast so they specially tailored the ads to that demographic.   Once I realized in a discussion with a friend I had missed a lot of great ads, I was able to catch up on all of them thanks to Youtube.com/adblitz.   My favorite ad from the streaming broadcast was “Wolf” by Cars.com:

Leave a Reply

